Indian Catholic News

Bangalore included in Mandya; new bishop named

Fr. Antony Kariyil is now Director of Rajagiri School of Engineering and Technology, Kochi.

Syro-Malabar Church head Cardinal George Alenchery congratulating Fr Antony Kariyil CMI, who has been appointed the second bishop of Eparchy of Mandya. (Photo courtesy: New Indian Express)
New Delhi: 

Pope Francis has extended the boundaries of the Syro-Malabar Eparchy of Mandya to include six civil districts of Bangalore region and approved Carmelite Father Antony Kariyil as its new bishop.

Six areas of Bangalore-- Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru rural, Chickballapur, Kolar, Ramnagara and Tumkur—having significant presence of the Syro-Malabar Catholics have been added to existing Mandya diocese.

The Synod of the Syro-Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Church gathered at Mount St. Thomas, Kerala, having received the prior Pontifical assent, has elected Fathe Kariyil as the bishop of Mandya.

The decision was announced Aug. 26 in Rome and in Kerala.

The priest belonging to Carmelite of Mary Immaculate congregation was director of Rajagiri School of Engineering and Technology based in Kochi at time of his new appintment.

Eparchy of Mandya was established on 18 January 2010, bifurcating the eparchy of Mananthavady, and Bishop George Njaralakkatt was appointed its first Bishop. The diocese fell vaccant when Bishop Njaralakatt was appointed Archbishop of Tellicherry, after four years of service in Mandya.

The bishop-elect was born on March 26, 1950 in the archdiocese of Ernakulam-Angamaly and made his first Profession in the CMI congregation in 1967. After completing priestly studies in Poona and Bangalore, he was ordained in 1977.

The priest, proficient in Malayalam, English and Hindi, holds a doctorate in Social Sciences from the University of Poona.

He was member of the personnel at Christ College, Bangalore, and later Principal of the same Institution. He also served as chaplain of the Syro-Malabar community at Resurrection Church in Bangalore.

He was also principal of College of Social Sciences in Rajagiri, Kerala and collaborator of the Provincial Council of CMI Rajagiri Sacred Heart Province, Prior General of the CMI Congregation for six years and National President of the Priests’ Section of Conference of Religious India.

Source: CBCI

Top Stories