Indian Catholic News

Satna mission seminary completes 25 years

Bishop Abraham D. Mattam of Satna started it as a Major Seminary for the northern missions in 1992.

File photo.

St. Ephrem’s Theological College in Satna will mark 25 years of its existence with a series of programs October 3-4, seminary officials said.

The programs will start when the newly ordained priests of last academic year celebrate the concelebrated Mass on Oct 3. All the alumni will take part in the Jubilee Family gathering on the same day.
The seminary that focuses on preparing priests for the northern Indian missions is the fourth seminary managed by the Synod of the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church, and the only one outside Kerala.

Cardinal George Alencherry, the Major Archbishop of the Syro Malabar Church, will preside over the Eucharistic celebration on Oct 4, a note from the seminary said.

The Theological Seminary, started as a Mission Major Seminary by Bishop Mar Abraham D. Mattam of Satna in 1992, was taken over by the Synod of the Syro Malabar Church in 2014 and became the official Mission Seminary of the Church.

The administration of the Seminary is carried out by a Commission elected by the Synod. Currently, the Commission members are Bishop Joseph Kodakallil of Satna (Chairman), Bishop Mar Sebastian Vadakkel of Ujjain and Mar Raphael Thattil, auxiliary Bishop of Thrissur. The present Rector is Rev. Dr. Joseph Ottapurackal, a priest of the diocese of Satna.

St. Ephrem’s Theological College was opened on 1992 July 3 at Edessa, the Pastoral centre of the Diocese of Satna. It was later moved to its present location at Barakala village, 15 kilometers away from Satna, on the Satna-Chitrakoot highway.

So far 299 priests have been ordained from the 22 batches of theology students. Most of them are from the Syro Malabar mission dioceses outside Kerala and Syro Malabar congregations.
In 2005, the seminary was affiliated to Paurastya Vidyapitham at Vadavathoor, Kottayam, enabling it to confer BTh degree to those who successfully complete the four year theological studies at ETC.

This year there are 25 deacons in the final year who are preparing for ordination. At present there are 68 seminarians undergoing formation under six resident staff members and 25 visiting teachers.


Top Stories